SCI Reviews – Austin, Texas

a picture of the Austin skyline at sunset
Request More Info
Your safety and education are priorities for SCI. Until further notice, we’re offering our classes in a hybrid/online teaching environment.

By submitting this form, I agree that Southern Careers Institute may contact me via email, text message or telephone, including the use of autodialers, regarding its programs and offers. Standard text and/or usage rates may apply.

Southern Careers Institute provides opportunities for students to create an entry-level career path into industries that they can grow in. Our Austin, Texas trade and vocational school receives ratings and reviews from past students, current students, working professionals and more. SCI’s collective portfolio of programs are designed to prepare students for specific careers in the business, beauty, medical, technology and various trade fields (note, not all SCI programs are offered at all SCI locations). We want you to experience what it is like to be part of SCI.

Read through our reviews below to get a better glimpse of life at SCI in Austin, Texas!

SCI - Austin, Texas Reviews

Southern Careers Institute Austin review summary

5  183
4  36
3  7
2  
1  
13 reviews with no rating
4.2

Recommendedon Facebook,Jan 13, 2021

Talia

SCI has really helped me to start my program that I am interested in they have helped me every step of the way I highly recommend them they will help you find the career you are meant to be in

Business Response:

Hi, Talia! We are so happy to hear about your positive experience at Southern Careers Institute Austin! Best wishes to you!


5on Google,Jan 12, 2021

Valerie Jo

Since the first day I enrolled, SCI has welcomed me with open arms. I’m at the end and ready to graduate. Staff and teachers are awesome and I pray and hope my next step is to get a good job as a MA. YALL ROCK!!!!!

Business Response:

Thank you so much for your kind words, Valerie Jo. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us.


Recommendedon Facebook,Jan 12, 2021

James Bryan

I was at Tulsa welding school in Houston for 2 months. That was a mistake. From the beginning Enrollment has been amazing. I’m looking forward to the instructors and achieving the goal!

Business Response:

Thank you so much for your kind words, James Bryan. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us.


5on Google,Jan 12, 2021

James

Amazing🙏🏾

Business Response:

Wonderful, James! We're happy to see that you have enjoyed your experience at Southern Careers Institute Austin .


5on Google,Jan 06, 2021

juan

good

Business Response:

Thanks, Juan! We appreciate the excellent rating, and we are happy to see that you've had a good experience.


5on Google,Jan 06, 2021

Dulce

Business Response:

Thanks for taking a moment to share your rating, Dulce! We really appreciate it!


5on Google,Jan 05, 2021

Keith

I attended SCI for a Welding Certification. The Office staff was always welcoming and willing to help students. The Welding department Houses Experienced welders as Instructors with the knowledge to teach their students. The Welding Instructors were always entertaining and understanding of student mistakes. The welding department (depending on instructor) has a open door policy for previous students to come in and practice for potential jobs or advise. I enjoyed my time at SCI, and learned so much. I recommend it for Welding.

Business Response:

Great, Keith! So glad you've had a good experience at Southern Careers Institute Austin!


4on Google,Dec 28, 2020

Maricela

Great instructors that always make sure you understand and that cares for your success!!!

Business Response:

Maricela, we appreciate you for taking the time to share your feedback!


4on Google,Dec 24, 2020

Stuart

Welding program is decent. ALOT of room for improvement. I’ve only been welding 7 months and it’s that obvious even to me. But I guess you get what you pay for. Instructors are cool and very knowledgeable based on pure experience. I honestly learned a lot. It’s more of a you get out what you put in as far hands on lab goes. Which is good. Journeymen welders are the instructors. But curriculum and time in the lab should more based around weld tests and increasing students ability. I’ll be honest YouTube will be your best friend. Weld.com has very good lab instructors and examples, to apply what’s in the books to hands on experience. Not just, ok go weld. More hands on experience should be applied shoulder to shoulder after a certain point in the program. I get you got to learn the basics first. But eventually it shouldn’t be about filling a coupon with stringer beads but applying knowledge to passing weld tests where as you’ll be doing that the rest of your welding career. I expected more tbh. Contacted career services dept. 2 weeks before i graduated on next steps after graduation. Resume building, job opportunities, where to apply etc. Filled out a form, emailed them my resume. Never heard back from them. Doing everything on my own. The school sells it to you very prestigiously. But this is the very basic of welding schools. You’ll get an NCCER cert. and 7 months experience if your lucky. COVID took a lot of welding time away from a lot of students. Nobody’s fault. Just unfortunate.

Business Response:

Thanks for sharing your experience, Stuart. We have passed it along to the campus director to identify ways to improve the experience. We see that Career Services has since reached out to you, but please contact the school should you need additional support. We wish you the very best in starting your welding career!


5on Google,Dec 17, 2020

karla

Business Response:

Hi, Karla! We appreciate your rating!


powered by BirdEye

We do not share every review from all review websites. We recommend visiting review platforms such as Google and Facebook to see even more reviews. The intent of this review information is to share examples of some experiences.

Want to learn more about how National Certifications might help you in today’s job market?

What SCI Students Are Saying

“I made a complete career change when I started my training at Southern Careers Institute. I needed a stable career to continue providing for my growing family. SCI provided me with the medical terminology and know how that I needed to understand and acquire a career in the medical field. SCI taught me that it doesn’t matter where you are in life right now; you always have room to advance and learn.”

Testimonal

Denise S.
Medical Assistant

“I am extremely grateful for the assistance I received from SCI’s Career Services team. I enjoy where I work and what I do. SCI has helped me succeed in life by getting me the necessary education and by making me a stronger and more confident person.”

Testimonal

Raquel S.

“Once I graduated from SCI, I had a sense of accomplishment that helped me through the job search process. SCI provided me with the opportunity to brush up on my skills, extend my accounting knowledge, and they boosted my self-confidence. I went to work two days after my last day of school.”

Testimonal

Annette D.
Business Accounting

“When my youngest child graduated from high school, I told my husband that it was my time. I went back to school to change careers after spending 37 years in the business field. At SCI, the instructors are professional, and they care about what they are teaching you, as well as expect you to give 100% in return. I had problems understanding how to draw in syringes and give injections. I requested extra help from a knowledgeable instructor, and I was able to receive one-on-one training. Today, I draw injections for approximately 100 patients each week. I am very confident in what I’ve learned. SCI has given me the chance to do what I always wanted to do. Thank you for my education. I am doing wonderful.”

Testimonal

Bonnie M
Medical Assistant

“I am now a certified Lab Tech. SCI helped me get an externship, and I came out with a job. After my little sister had cancer, I knew I wanted a career in the medical field that allowed me to help others. I am happy about what I do.”

Testimonal

Sidney B
Medical Assistant

“The best place ever!! Ms.Tonia rocks she is the best teacher… I love going to school my time there is amazing.”

Testimonal

Andrea Garcia

“Southern Careers went beyond my expectations. Very impressed. The assistance I got from Career Services is truly amazing. They really went out of their way to get me placed. They really care and I am grateful to all of them.”

Testimonal

Olga C.

“Southern Careers Institute totally surpassed my expectations. Once I finished school, the Career Services team helped me find a job. I would tell anyone thinking about starting career training that you have nothing to lose and a lot to gain. I wish I would have started my training sooner.”

Testimonal

Valerie D.

“I am very happy with where I am and where I’m going. Through high school, I struggled with math. When I came to SCI, I enrolled in the Business Accounting Specialist program to see if I could do it. SCI provided me with the accounting skills I needed to help me find a career. Now, I have an amazing career and room to grow in the company.”

Testimonal

Crystal H.
Business Accounting

Speak with an
Admissions Advisor

Call 1.833.SCI.TEXAS

Our mission is to ensure the long-term success of our students by delivering employer-tailored programs that result in an increasing demand for Southern Careers Institute graduates.

Contact Us Today