SCI Reviews – Waco, Texas

Trade and Vocational School in Waco
Request More Info
Your safety and education are priorities for SCI. Until further notice, we’re offering our classes in a hybrid/online teaching environment.
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden

By submitting this form, I agree that Southern Careers Institute may contact me via email, text message or telephone, including the use of autodialers, regarding its programs and offers. Standard text and/or usage rates may apply.

Are you ready to jumpstart a career and grow in an industry of your choice? As a trade and vocational school in Waco, Texas, Southern Careers Institute provides hands-on education through various programs that may help you succeed in a new career. Our campus receives reviews and recommendations from industry professionals, students and others.

Check out our reviews to get a better picture of our programs at SCI in Waco, Texas!

SCI - Waco, Texas Reviews

Southern Careers Institute Waco review summary

5  149
4  16
3  4
2  
1  
37 reviews with no rating
4.9

5on Google,Jan 27, 2023

Alex

I was enrolled in the electrical program I had 15 years of field experience and I learned a lot I really enjoyed my time there I would not recommend this to someone who has no experience what so ever it’s a 7 month program and it’s fast paced but it’s a good program and the staff are really friendly and super helpful

Business Response:

Hi Alex! We're so glad that you chose SCI to refresh your skills. 😊 We're thrilled to hear you had a great experience in our electrical technician program, and that our staff and instructors were helpful!


3on Google,Jan 18, 2023

Bob

Business Response:

Thanks, Bob. We appreciate your rating. We'd like to talk more about it with you, so we can improve the experience for you and others. Please feel free to contact us at (844) 783-6569.


5on Google,Jan 11, 2023

Jerry

Business Response:

Thanks for taking a moment to share your rating, Jerry! We really appreciate it!


5on BirdEye,Jan 10, 2023

James

I just wanted to let someone know directly how much of an impact SCI instructor Mr. Manuel Mesa has made on my life. I have always had an interest in electricity since I was about 14 years old. I am now 42 and thought it's too late for me to go through a major career change. My wife thought otherwise and kept pushing me to go to the tour of the campus. As I was going through the tour, I ran across Mr. Mesa in the hallway and spoke briefly with him about the electrical program. He told me about his students he had in the past and how he loved to see their eyes light up when what they were learning became clear. I loved hearing about that, and that statement was what jump stared me into wanting nothing more than to take the course in electricity. Since I have been enrolled in this course, I have had many positive influences including instructors, staff and other students. However, Mr. Mesa's tactics and techniques to teach his students and ensuring they have an understanding of the material surpass any that I have ever experienced before. Before enrolling at SCI, I have never been able to maintain a 4.0 GPA much less anything close to that because I believe I may be autistic to a certain degree. So, it's not as easy to figure out what's being taught if its only taught one way. If there has ever been a time that I wasn't able to understand something, Mr. Mesa has been able to teach it in a different way so that I could comprehend it in my mind. I even had real life situations arise where he was able to walk me through the steps of figuring out what might have been wrong. I feel like even after I graduate, I could call on him if I run into problems that I cannot solve involving electrical work I encounter. Not only has he been an outstanding instructor in teaching, but he has also showed concern for me as a student involving personal life issues that I have been dealing with throughout the time I have been in his class. There was a time that I told him I wanted to quit because of those personal issues. But after him taking a look at everything I had accomplished and well I had done, he looked at me and said "I won't let you quit! You have done so well in everything so far and I see a much brighter outcome in you than to quit!" He has done a superior job as an instructor, a counselor, a mentor, and a friend when he has been needed in all of these roles. He definitely deserves recognition for all of these accomplishments!!

Business Response:

Hello James! Thank you for taking the time to share your incredible experience with us. We are just absolutely thrilled to hear that you chose SCI to take a chance on learning new skills you've been interested in for years. 😊 It sounds like Mr. Mesa was exactly the type of instructor you needed to make sure you were learning material in a way that worked for you, and staying motivated in yourself! It can be daunting to return to school and we are so proud of what you have accomplished. Maintaining a 4.0 is no joke! Congratulations! You will always be a part of the SCI family!


5on Google,Jan 02, 2023

Marlene

I had a great experience here at this school. My professor was wonderful . she was very patient with me .

Business Response:

Hi Marlene! We're thrilled that you had a great experience. 😊 Congratulations on graduating!


5on Google,Dec 28, 2022

Amelia

I loved this school and the teachers there are always helpful.

Business Response:

Hi Amelia! We're so happy to hear that you have had a great experience with us and that our instructors were always there for you. 😊


5on Google,Dec 23, 2022

Clarisabel

Business Response:

Thank you, Clarisabel!


5on Google,Dec 06, 2022

Chascidy

Business Response:

Thanks, Chascidy!


5on Google,Nov 04, 2022

Jeph

Everyone there is beyond amazing. They have to be the most helpful and respectful staffing I’ve ever met. They make you feel right at home as soon as you walk through the door and make you feel like family, especially amber Martinez. I can’t wait to start my classes

Business Response:

Hi Jeph! We're thrilled that our staff has been helpful, welcoming and respectful! 😊 We're so glad you feel at home at SCI. We're wishing you lots of luck in your classes!


5on Google,Oct 27, 2022

Christopher

Business Response:

Hi, Christopher! We appreciate your rating!


powered by BirdEye

We do not share every review from all review websites. We recommend visiting review platforms such as Google and Facebook to see even more reviews. The intent of this review information is to share examples of some experiences.

Want to learn more about how National Certifications might help you in today’s job market?

What SCI Students Are Saying

"Just finished school for welding. Had the best experience with Southern Careers Institute, and had a lot of fun with my buddies. Already working at SpaceX. SCI is the place to be guys! Don't wait any longer, sign up!”

Testimonal

Enrique H.
Welding

"I recently achieved my dream of becoming a CDL driver, passing my CDL exams at our local DMV in Edinburg. Mr. Gonzalez was such a great instructor, even though it was raining I passed with flying colors!”

Testimonal

Juan L.
Commercial Motor Vehicle Operator

“I made a complete career change when I started my training at Southern Careers Institute. I needed a stable career to continue providing for my growing family. SCI provided me with the medical terminology and know how that I needed to understand and acquire a career in the medical field. SCI taught me that it doesn’t matter where you are in life right now; you always have room to advance and learn.”

Testimonal

Denise S.
Medical Assistant

“I am extremely grateful for the assistance I received from SCI’s Career Services team. I enjoy where I work and what I do. SCI has helped me succeed in life by getting me the necessary education and by making me a stronger and more confident person.”

Testimonal

Raquel S.

“Once I graduated from SCI, I had a sense of accomplishment that helped me through the job search process. SCI provided me with the opportunity to brush up on my skills, extend my accounting knowledge, and they boosted my self-confidence. I went to work two days after my last day of school.”

Testimonal

Annette D.
Business Accounting

“When my youngest child graduated from high school, I told my husband that it was my time. I went back to school to change careers after spending 37 years in the business field. At SCI, the instructors are professional, and they care about what they are teaching you, as well as expect you to give 100% in return. I had problems understanding how to draw in syringes and give injections. I requested extra help from a knowledgeable instructor, and I was able to receive one-on-one training. Today, I draw injections for approximately 100 patients each week. I am very confident in what I’ve learned. SCI has given me the chance to do what I always wanted to do. Thank you for my education. I am doing wonderful.”

Testimonal

Bonnie M
Medical Assistant

“I am now a certified Lab Tech. SCI helped me get an externship, and I came out with a job. After my little sister had cancer, I knew I wanted a career in the medical field that allowed me to help others. I am happy about what I do.”

Testimonal

Sidney B
Medical Assistant

“The best place ever!! Ms.Tonia rocks she is the best teacher… I love going to school my time there is amazing.”

Testimonal

Andrea Garcia

“Southern Careers went beyond my expectations. Very impressed. The assistance I got from Career Services is truly amazing. They really went out of their way to get me placed. They really care and I am grateful to all of them.”

Testimonal

Olga C.

“Southern Careers Institute totally surpassed my expectations. Once I finished school, the Career Services team helped me find a job. I would tell anyone thinking about starting career training that you have nothing to lose and a lot to gain. I wish I would have started my training sooner.”

Testimonal

Valerie D.

Speak with an
Admissions Advisor

Call 1.833.SCI.TEXAS

Our mission is to be a leading talent producer by delivering employer-tailored training.

Contact Us Today