New URL:

SCI Reviews – San Antonio (North Campus)

Virtual Campus Tours
Request More Info
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

By submitting this form, I agree that Southern Careers Institute may contact me via email, text message or telephone, including the use of autodialers, regarding its programs and offers. Standard text and/or usage rates may apply.

Are you ready to establish a career in your industry of interest? Southern Careers Institute, a trade and vocational school in San Antonio, Texas, offers various educational, hands-on programs, that can lead to a number of industry options to consider as you grow through training. Our programs receive reviews and recommendations from past and current students, as well as, industry professionals.

Check out our reviews to read what people say about the programs at the SCI north campus in San Antonio, Texas!

SCI - San Antonio, Texas (North) Reviews

Southern Careers Institute - San Antonio North review summary

5  557
4  64
3  16
2  
1  
69 reviews with no rating
4.8

5on Google,May 27, 2024

Salvador

Business Response:

Thanks, Salvador! We appreciate the excellent rating!


5on Google,May 26, 2024

Ralph

I'm so thankful for this new opportunity I was presented with the staff was very helpful and I can't wait to start school and a new career thank you sci 🙏

Business Response:

Thanks for taking a moment to share your rating, Ralph! We really appreciate it!


4on Google,May 26, 2024

David

Business Response:

Wonderful, David! We're happy to see that you have enjoyed your experience at Southern Careers Institute - San Antonio North .


4on Google,May 25, 2024

Roland

Business Response:

Thanks, Roland! We appreciate the excellent rating, and we are happy to see that you've had a good experience.


4on Google,May 20, 2024

Bryson

There were a few reasons I chose an actual CDL school over a private tutor. The first and biggest reason I chose a CDL school was the lifetime help the school provides in gaining employment. They helped me land a job as I was graduating. They said if I decide to change companies, just give them a call and they will assist. The second reason is the timing on the written and driving tests. Here in Texas, scheduling test can take months. Being able to test right away was well worth going with a CDL school. Lastly, many of the driving careers out there will take a certified CDL education as experience. Meaning you can get into a higher paying job right away. There were a few cons to choosing a CDL school. This may not apply to all schools, but it certainly applies to Southern Careers Institute. The classes had few instructors, and even fewer trucks to work with. Which means every class was over-booked. My yard times with the trucks to learn my maneuvers was supposed to be 3 hours long, but I got 20-30 minutes in that time to practice. When driving on the road, the instructors were very do as I say and not as I do. As a visual learner, I was hoping to see the instructors double clutch or properly downshift. Instead they spent time showing off with shifting gears without ever touching the clutch. The school likes to say how many trucks they have to work on/with, but in actuality you have 1 yard truck to share (often broken and in need of being fixed) and 1 road truck to share. Combine this with a very small yard and a lot of students, and you'll have the ultimate study time for pre-trip inspection. Instructors: When I started school at Southern Careers Institute, there were four instructors. Two of the instructors were teaching a little longer than the other two, but they were a little more difficult to work with. The other two instructors were extremely personable, respectful, and helpful. They would finetune your lessons to perfect your maneuvers, shifting, lane control, and overall observation. One of the instructors, knowing I have never even gotten into the driver's seat of a truck, put me in freeway traffic on my very first lesson. Being yelled at to "downshift! Downshift! If you hit that car, I'm walking away. I'm not doing paperwork today!" It almost made me walk away from continuing in this field. Changing to the other two instructors really made a difference. They took me to a large yard, taught me how to shift, how to turn, and how to maintain my lane control. When they finally hired another instructor, he spent more time with these two instructors and followed in their footsteps. Instructor review 4/5 Testing review 5/5 Driving block review 2/5 Post graduate help review 5/5

Business Response:

Great, Bryson! So glad you've had a good experience at Southern Careers Institute - San Antonio North!


5on Google,May 18, 2024

Christian

Business Response:

Hi, Christian! We are so happy to hear about your positive experience at Southern Careers Institute - San Antonio North! Best wishes to you!


5on Google,May 16, 2024

Luis

I was very pleased with the overall experience at SCI. I had the pleasure of meeting some great instructors that were honest and sincere. I would recommend going to SCI. If I had to do it all over again I would definitely do it in a heartbeat.

Business Response:

Great, Luis! So glad you've had a good experience at Southern Careers Institute - San Antonio North!


5on Google,May 15, 2024

lil Vinnie

Business Response:

Hi, Lil! We are so happy to hear about your positive experience at Southern Careers Institute - San Antonio North! Best wishes to you!


5on Google,May 15, 2024

Roel

Business Response:

Hi, Roel! We appreciate your rating!


5on Google,May 04, 2024

Damien

Victoria is the best! Got me through the process and got me funded and on the way to my new career. Thank you Victoria

Business Response:

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience, Damien!


powered by BirdEye

We do not share every review from all review websites. We recommend visiting review platforms such as Google and Facebook to see even more reviews. The intent of this review information is to share examples of some experiences.

Want to learn more about how National Certifications might help you in today’s job market?

Speak with an
Admissions Advisor

Call 1.833.SCI.TEXAS

Our mission is to be a leading talent producer by delivering employer-tailored training.

Contact Us Today